Vici is broken or unit abilities are 10X too powerful

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

Mister_Avnas #1 Posted 16 February 2018 - 12:58 AM

Lance-corporal

• Closed Alpha Gladiators

i started playing as roman swords for the first time since alpha. let me just talk about the stat differences when facing the same exact unit with the same exact equipment if you're against ceasar.

for instance, with VI heavy roman infantry, because of how strong parry and formed combat are, somebody using vici will always win. because they have +65% defense against anyone else who didn't use vici on them first. so how are you supposed to beat vici? run away? not possible as armored legion against centurion, for instance. 

to compound of ridiculously broken this ability is, it also disables unit abilities like infantry charge, meaning that you also lose the initial charge in any engagement. and also because you can't go into formed combat you take 10% more damage from this.

and all of this is on top of the vici ability's original effect which vs germanicus causes -40% or more melee attack

to make matters worse, if you're using a unit that relies on it's abilities like phalanx or cavalry, it just turns your unit off, essentially. what can a pike do if it's just standing there?

Edited by Mister_Avnas, 16 February 2018 - 01:01 AM.

macpla_NA #2 Posted 16 February 2018 - 02:51 AM

Lance-corporal

• Players

You know that VICI works only if Caesar commander is not engaged, right ? This is solution you are looking for.

In terms of Formed Combat I think is still little too generous as a BUFF. Or let me put it different way, phalanx formation which base pretty much on the same mechanics is not increasing Spear/Pike unit defensive  capabilities, so now we have this situation where we shifted balance towards sword, ...again.